Bute was at one time divided into three parishes, Kingarth, Rothesay and North Bute with Kingarth being the oldest with services originally held at St Blanes Chapel until 1676.  Kingarth Church was built in 1826 and replaced an earlier building on the site.  It had no running water or electricity and was lit by oil lamps.  After being badly damaged in the great storm in January 196 it was demolished though the graveyard remains and burials still take place there. (P03-3993, A3.309)